Culture differences!

This summer has really been a test for me how much I have been studying other cultures. I thought I knew everything before this summer, that I was a travelling person, yes just like a normal 18 years old person. We think that we know everything before someone has tough us that. I am not the first, and certainly not the last one thinking that. First my week in Spain/Catalan visiting my friend Georgina, just that week told me so much more then many of my trips together.

M aybe becau se this was one of the first times I was living in a real family with family activities, and not at some hostel. Just that mad me see more of the real culture. I just loved how they made their breakfast! It was this baguette they cut open, squeezed out the inside of  a tomato, some olive oil and then ham. I would never had eaten that at a hostel I believe, I think I would have been eaten the same kind of bread as I do in Sweden with butter and jam and cheese.

 

And they, just the week after my week in Spain did I go the whole way to Stockholm, okay Stockholm has some culture differences to my home town but that’s not something I will write about. It was the Salvation Army and all the visiting delegates from so many countries from the world! I can tell that I had no idea that so many people from so many places could be so similar and so different at the same time. I felt like a sponge, I wanted to suck up all the differences like it was water and keep it inside of me for the rest of my life. Some of it I will remember, but fortunately not everything. But I will always remember how to say yes in India, and it is not nodding it is some kind of shaking the head. And how important status is in some countries. But something that I have seen that makes the entire world to one individual is the laugh that we can share. I know that some people are a bit more shy to show it than others, but shared happiness it double happiness all over the world, and I will always remember that too! So go out and just smile to the people you meet on the street, it is not much but it do makes a different.

2010-08-02 @ 00:31:02 Linas mind Permalink


Kommentarer

Dela med dig av din tanke här:

Namn:
Klicka här så blir du ihågkommen :)

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

Din blogg:

Orden:

Trackback